McCarthy Wins UK’s Oldest Literary Award

August 28, 2007

Cormac McCarthyUS author, Cormac McCarthy, was named the winner of this year’s James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction on Sunday night, at the Edinburgh International Book Festival.

The award for his tenth novel, The Road, comes only four months after it won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction, depicting the tale of a father and son in post-apocalyptic America.

McCarthy beat off stiff competition from Sarah Waters, Ray Robinson, James Lasdun, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Alice Munro to claim the prize – a cheque for £10,000 – the same amount won by Byron Rogers, who won in the biography category for his book about Welsh poet RS Thomas.

Past winners include DH Lawrence and EM Forster, which has been awarded by The University of Edinburgh since 1919. Unfortunately McCarthy, 74, could not attend the ceremony to collect the award.

Judge Professor Colin Nicholson, of the University of Edinburgh, said: “Each of the shortlisted authors is prize-worthy.

“But my fellow judge Roger Savage agrees with me that for imaginative impact and page-turning readability, the two winning books are both destined to become classics in their respective genres.”

~ Colin Galbraith ~


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: