h1

Addicted to Books?

March 2, 2006

I recently lamented in my writer’s forum that I wished there was a “Bookaholics Anonymous” because I have to admit, I’m obsessed with the durn things. I collect everything from the classics, to first editions, mostly hardcover, and I stack them everywhere in my poor office.

I have a problem. Or I guess you could call me a “Book Enthusiast,” if you’re the Glass-is-half-full Type.

Hey, Stephen King said in his book On Writing: “If you don’t have the time to read, you don’t have the time or the tools to write.” This is very true. If you aren’t an especially prolific reader, how on earth can you expect to be a good writer? You need to see what’s out there. You need to read the works of others. You need to educate yourself.

And you need books to do this! (Or at least a well-worn library card)
Yes, I’m rationalizing, but imagine my relief and surprise to learn that I am not the only one in my writing group with this “addiction.” Everyone else seemed to have it. A hazzard of the trade, I suppose.

I guess there are worse vices…

Leave a comment